YAS Book Con 2018

October 19th, 9:00am – 2:00pm
at Western Kentucky University‘s
Downing Student Union
Bowling Green, KY

Schedules

Check out the comprehensive list of panel discussions, writing workshops, and activities happening at this year’s event (the evening events schedule is included on the printable). Click the button below for a printable PDF, and start planning your day! Note: the schedule has changed! Please download a new version if you downloaded a schedule before October 15.

Click button to download

Announcements

Debut Author Roundup

While many authors in our lineup have published multiple books, some are celebrating their first #bookbirthday!

read more

Code of Conduct

YAS Book Con is committed to providing a working and learning environment free from discrimination & harassment.

read more

SOKY Reads! & Project LIT

SOKY Reads!, our annual community-wide reading program, is teaming up with the Project LIT Community! From August-October, we’ll be distributing free copies of Nic Stone’s Dear Martin at various locations and hosting book discussions.

We’re thrilled to team up with this important literacy movement seeking to empower readers and leaders across the country. Read more about this partnership on our Announcements page. 

Location

Western Kentucky University
Downing Student Union
1906 College Hgts Blvd. #11044
Bowling Green, KY 42101

FAQ

When and where (dates / location)

When: Friday, October 19, 2018
From 9:00 AM through 2:00 PM (CT)
Where: Friday events are at the Downing Student Union (DSU) on Western Kentucky University’s campus. Evening activities are in multiple locations in downtown Bowling Green.

Who's going to be there?

Hopefully you! Bring your parents. Bring your friends! Bring your classmates!

PLUS, more than 35 great authors. See our full lineup for details.

Are tickets or registration required?

No! All activities are free and open to the public – college students included!

Unless you’re bringing a bus load of students. We ask that student administrators and teachers RSVP by October 1st. Bus parking is available.

How do I get there? Where do I park?

Follow directions to the Downing Student Union. Reference directions and parking information for DSU here. Friday evening events will take place in downtown Bowling Green – park around Fountain Square Park or surrounding businesses.

How do I apply as a volunteer, moderator, or author?

Volunteers or moderators should send us an email. Please wait for a reply from our coordinator prior to arriving to volunteer.

Authors will be invited by the planning team until the roster is full (30-35 authors total) and will be chosen based on themed panels and presentations. The Young Adult Southern Book Con team reserves the right to accept or reject any applications.

Will I be able to buy books?

Yes! All on site book sales will be facilitated by Barnes & Noble Booksellers. Cash, check, and cards are all accepted.

I have a business downtown, and I want to host an event Friday night!

We’d love to partner with you! Please send an email to the Coordinator.

About

The Young Adult Southern (YAS) Book Con is a book festival just for readers of Young Adult and Middle Grade literature! The second annual YAS Book Con is October 19th, 2018 from 9am-2pm at WKU’s Downing Student Union; evening events are located in beautiful downtown Bowling Green. All programming is free and open to the public. See our Announcements page for everything you need to know about attending!

YAS Book Con is a project of the SOKY Book Fest partnership. The mission of SOKY Book Fest is to encourage literacy and the love of books. Check out sokybookfest.org for more information about our other events.

Supporters

Affiliates

Special thanks to Molly McCaffrey & David Bell and Sandra & John Baker for their support!