brenda rufener

Where I Live

Contemporary

From debut author Brenda Rufener comes a heart-wrenching and evocative story perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Girl in Pieces, and All the Bright Places.

Linden Rose has a big secret–she is homeless and living in the halls of her small-town high school. Her position as school blog editor, her best friends, Ham and Seung, and the promise of a future far away are what keep Linden under the radar and moving forward.

But when cool-girl Bea comes to school with a bloody lip, the damage hits too close to home. Linden begins looking at Bea’s life, and soon her investigation prompts people to pay more attention. And attention is the last thing she needs.

Linden knows the only way to put a stop to the violence is to tell Bea’s story and come to terms with her own painful past. Even if that means breaking her rules for survival and jeopardizing the secrets she’s worked so hard to keep.

Brenda Rufener

Brenda Rufener is a technical writer turned novelist and the author of Where I Live, which Bustle named a most anticipated YA contemporary book hitting shelves in 2018 and Jennifer Niven called a “hard-hitting novel filled with hope.”

Since We Last Spoke, Brenda’s second young adult novel publishes in April 2019. When not writing, Brenda enjoys hiking the woods of North Carolina and spending time with her family. Learn more at her website.

Schedule

Friday, October 19

9:00-9:45am • Panel Discussion – Nice for What?

Location:  DSU 3023-25

Sheroes tend to get a bad rap. But if female characters don’t get written from all angles, the same old character will keep showing up. And writing the same-old is way too blasé for these authors.

Along with these authors:
NoNieqa Ramos
Tanaz Bhathena
Amanda Foody
Amy Spalding
Moderated by Kelly deVos

6:00-6:45amPanel Discussion – Level Up

Location:  Little Fox Bakery (314 E Main Ave)

These debut authors talk about how real-life experiences fuel their writing (or in some cases, doesn’t). How did they get inspired to write their books? How does research tie in? What messages do they want to convey? Come with your questions; leave with answers (and probably a cupcake)!

Along with these authors:
Nisha Sharma
Tanaz Bhathena
Kelly deVos
Julien Jamar
Alison Ashley Formento
Moderated by Bree Barton